Why I didn’t bother with an MBA or CFA.

But is an MBA or CFA right for you?

Welcome Back, it’s time to set some fireworks off. Also, I hope everyone in NYC is okay and staying inside given the smoke.

My disclaimer, this is just my opinion and I’m mainly speaking to the Credit ppl here. This means individuals in direct lending on a deal team, or someone buying and trading leveraged loans, high yield bonds, distressed debt, etc. You are welcome to discount it - everyone has different types of careers. Different strokes for different folks. Get several opinions from several smart people and form your decision based on that. But here’s why I decided to pursue neither an MBA nor a CFA and why if you’re in Credit this might make sense for you too. However, if you disagree and want to pursue an MBA or CFA, I provided some Pros and some resources to help you get started throughout this piece. While I don’t think an MBA or CFA makes sense if you’re already in a credit investing role, this may be a path for you to evaluate if you need to make a pivot.

Ultimately, I believe that, if you’re in credit obviously, 1) being good at your job is more important than whether you got an MBA or CFA and 2) if you’re in the right seat and on the right path already, you’re better off zoning in on your job and specific niche as opposed to getting sidetracked.

Subscribe to HYH Premium to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of HYH Premium to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In

A subscription gets you:
Full Access to all Premium Posts
Full Access to the Credit Resources Library
Content that will help get you a job in Credit
Content to support Buy Side Investors with their Job Hunts